Date   : 21 May 2020 | Venue: IDC Conference Centre, Sandton


Programme Director:

08:00 – 08:00

Welcome – Kaizer M. Nyatsumba, Chairman: Manufacturing
                      Working Group, SA Chapter of the BBC

08:05 – 08:30

Opening Address
The Honourable Ebrahim Patel
Minister of Trade and Industry

08:30 – 08:45

Introducing the BRICS Business Council
Dr Stavros Nicolaou, Member of Council, BBC SA and
Senior Executive – Strategic Trade: Aspen Pharmacare Group

08:45 – 10:15

South African Manufacturers and the BRICS Business Council
The Manufacturing Working Group – Does It Matter?
How Manufacturers Can Leverage the BBC MWG
Programme Director:
                           Ms Phillipa Rodseth, Chief Executive Officer: Manufacturing Circle
                           Mr Nizam Kalla, Managing Director: Amka Products (Pty) Ltd and
                           MWG SA Deputy Chairman
                           Mr Bob Williamson, President: ISTMA

10:15 – 10:45

Tea Break

10:45 – 13:00

Progress Report on Priority MWG Projects 
           A Progress Report on MWG Projects to be Discussed in Russia
Programme Director:

  • Electromobility Solutions – Mr Michael Mabasa, CEO: NAAMSA
  • Smart Cities – Mr Ziaad Suleman, Chief Operations Officer: IBM SA
  • Light Passenger Aircraft Manufacturing – Mr Lesetja Mogoba, Senior Marketer, DENEL AURONAUTICS
  • Project Thuthukisa – Mr Ivan Radebe, Managing Director, Pelchem
  • MedTech SEZ – Ms Ilse Karg, Deputy Director-General: Department of Trade and Industry
  • Bio-plastic technologies
  1. The Clariter Project
     Ms Vuyo Sikwebu: CEO, The Clariter Project
  2. Bio-Plastic Technology
    Mr Martin Sanne, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
  3. Exponential Manufacturing
    Mr Johann van Tonder: Agustin Equity Management
13:00 – 14:00


14:00 – 16:00

A Focus on Some of the Planned New Special Economic Zones
                    How will they advance the course of Manufacturing in the Country?
                                 Programme Director:
                                   Ms Conny Mametja, CEO: Nkomazi SEZ
                                   Mr Mninawe Pepi Silinga, CEO: Coega SEZ
                                   Mr Pierre Voges, Acting CEO: Atlantis SEZ
                                   Mr Lance Schultz, CEO: Automotive Industry Development Centre
                                   Ms Seipati Mngadi, CEO: OR Tambo SEZ
                                   Mr Harmish Erskine, CEO: Dube Trade Port SEZ

16:00 – 17:00

How South African Business Can Leverage BRICS Membership Better
   Programme Director:

  • Dr Ayanda Ntsaluba, Executive Director: Discovery Health
  • Mr Elias Monage, CEO: Afika Group
  • Dr John Purchase, CEO: Agribiz and Chairman: Agribusiness Working Group
  • Ms June Crawford, Chairperson: BRICS SA Aviation Working Group
  • Mr TP Nchocho, CEO: Industrial Development Corporation and Chairman: Financial Working Group
17:00 – 17:05

Closing Remarks
Mr Kaizer M. Nyatsumba, Chairman: MWG, South Africa

17:05 – 18:00

Cocktails and Networking Opportunity