Johannesburg, 26 April 2019 – The Steel and Engineering Industries Federation of Southern Africa (SEIFSA) has urged companies that are yet to submit entries for the 2019 SEIFSA Awards for Excellence to do so before tonight’s midnight deadline.

Now in their fifth year, the Annual SEIFSA Awards for Excellence, which are open to all employers in the metals and engineering sector –  including those which are non-SEIFSA members –  offer a wonderful opportunity for companies operating in the metals and engineering sector to receive well-deserved acknowledgement and respect by industry peers for their capabilities, expertise and innovation.

SEIFSA Chief Executive Officer Kaizer Nyatsumba said the Awards were born of a need to encourage growth and celebrate excellence in the crucial metals and engineering sector.

“In such tough economic conditions, we at SEIFSA believe that it is of paramount importance for those companies that still excel at what they do, in spite of the economic challenges, to get the acknowledgement and recognition they so richly deserve. It is against this backdrop that we encourage manufacturers operating in the metals and engineering sector to take advantage of the opportunities for recognition offered by the increasingly prestigious SEIFSA Awards for Excellence and submit their entries for the seven categories before the midnight deadline tonight,” Mr Nyatsumba said.Entrants will be assessed on their performance in the period July 1 2017 to December 31 2018 in seven different categories, namely:

  • The Most Innovative Company of the Year, which will be awarded to a company that showed the best level of innovation in research and development or production between July 2017 and December 2018;
  • The Health and Safety Award of the Year will be offered to a company with the best legal compliance record in Health and Safety or the lowest Lost-Time Injury Frequency rate in 2018;
  • The company rated the highest in customer service performance between July 2017 and December 2018 will receive the Customer Service Award of the Year; and
  • The Environmental Stewardship Award will go to a company that has successfully implemented greening initiatives in its day-to-day business operations between July 2017 and December 2018.
  • This is the Decade of the Artisan, and an award will be made to the company that trained the highest number of artisans between July 2017 and December 2018;
  • The Best CSI Award will be presented to a company whose corporate social investment programme/s between July 2017 and December 2018 had a major impact on the lives of its beneficiaries.
  • The Most Transformed Company of the Year Award category is split into two by company size: the first covers companies employing fewer than 100 people and the second one looks at companies employing more than 100 people. This, according to Mr Nyatsumba, ensures that companies are judged against their peers to encourage fairness.

The 2019 Award winners will be honoured at a ceremony that will take place at the IDC Conference Centre in Sandton on 23 May 2019.


Issued by:

Ollie Madlala
Communications Manager
Tel: (011) 298 9411 / 082 602 1725
Web: www.meindaba.

SEIFSA is a National Federation representing 23 independent employer Associations in the metals and engineering industries, with a combined membership of 1600 companies employing around 200 000 employees. The Federation was formed in 1943 and its member companies range from giant steel-making corporations to micro-enterprises employing fewer than 50 people.

Related Articles