SEIFSA Awards For Excellence demonstrate the potential companies have to reignite the economy through their excellence


JOHANNESBURG, 2 MAY 2021 – The Steel and Engineering Industries Federation of Southern Africa (SEIFSA) has extended the closing date for submissions for the seventh SEIFSA Awards for Excellence to Friday, 7 May 2021.

The Awards, which are set to take place on 20 May 2021 in Johannesburg, aim to promote and reward innovation and excellence in the Metals and Engineering (M&E) sector, with the winners serving as benchmarks for best practice in the industry.

SEIFSA CEO Kaizer Nyatsumba said he is looking forward to this year’s submissions and is confident that, as with previous winners, they will demonstrate the potential that companies in the M&E sector have not only to revive South Africa’s struggling economy, but also to reignite it. 

“Our economy has been struggling for years, but we believe that hope for recovery lies in not only innovative and resilient companies, but also those that are committed to transformation and doing good in order to drive economic inclusivity, and those that ensure they conduct their business safely in order to protect their workers and the environment,” he said. 

He said previous SEIFSA Awards for Excellence winners have set the bar high in the various categories, and continue to excel in those areas. 

Last year’s winners included Centurion Systems, which won the Innovative Company of the Year Award and Pamodzi Unique Engineering, which won the Most Transformed Company Award. Babcock Ntuthuko Engineering won the Health and Safety Award, while Beka Schréder won the Best Corporate Social Responsibility Programme of the Year Award. The Artisan of the Year category was on by Kgabo Cars and Training & Services.

This year, all seven categories are up for grabs and comprise:

• Most Innovative Company of Year;

• Health and Safety Award of the Year;

• Best Corporate Social Responsibility Programme of the Year;

• Customer Service Award of the Year;

• Environmental Stewardship of the Year;

• Most Transformed Company of the Year; and

• The Artisan Award of the Year.

Both SEIFSA members and non-members are eligible for entry.

Related Articles